Surprise!

Husband lied to me.  He told me that he had bought me a set of Skull Candy headphones and we were just waiting for them to arrive in the post.  He didn’t.

He bought me this instead:

Isn't she sexy?!?

That, ladies and gentlemen, is a 30lb recurve bow.  I was really into archery when I was a youngster and I’ve been wanting to get back into it for a long while.  Every time we go to Bass Pro Shops, Husband very indulgently waits while I spend at least half an hour drooling over archery supplies that I can’t afford.  I’m also somewhat convinced that he has a secret goal to “one up” me every birthday.  Our birthdays are 13 days apart and every year I think I’ve gotten him a great present.  And then he gives me an iMac.  Or a new bow.  And makes my “video game I know he wants and computer software” gift look completely lame in comparison.  *sigh*

I was so excited about this present, I might have derped.  Hard…

Hurr Hurr, Is New Bow!!

Seriously, though, she’s gorgeous and I absolutely love her.  Unfortunately, every single place that sells feather fletched arrows is either a) sold out or b) closed on Monday.  So I have to wait until tomorrow to buy arrows.  Oh well, I think I’ll live.

Update:  Viking Archery in Canyon Lake had the arrows I needed and I spent about an hour talking shop with the dude who owns the shop.  He’s lovely and they’re very, very reasonably priced for just about everything they sell.  I wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone in the San Antonio area.

I got the most obnoxiously girlie arrows I could find, just to piss Husband off when he wants to use them.

One more, because she's so beautiful. I'm talking about the bow, silly, not me.

About Kalypso

I'm a mess. My brain is a dirty and dangerous place. I'm a punk. I'm a capitalist. I'm a snarky, sarcastic, antisocial nerd. View all posts by Kalypso

5 responses to “Surprise!

  • Pandora Incognito

    Im actually excited about this to have an unusual interest in common with you, archery was something I was really into as a kid that I’ve been DYING to get back into as an adult, so if you have any advice on what to get, where to shop, and what not, please let me know.

    • Kalypso

      Honestly, other than the half-a-day it took me to find a shop that sold the arrows I needed, we had really good luck/experience with Bass Pro Shop. The boy in the archery section was very knowledgeable and very helpful. If you’re ever in this area, I’ll take you out to Viking Archery, it’s up in Canyon Lake and I absolutely LOVE the old dude who runs the shop. He spent about an hour just talking shop with me today.

    • Kalypso

      I would recommend starting with a 25 or 30 lb recurve, anything more than that is going to be really hard to control until you get your strength back up. I would also recommend aluminum arrows, they’re about half the cost of carbon but much more reliable and sturdier than wood. As far as size of arrow, find an archery store that will measure and cut your arrows custom instead of buying precut arrows that may be too long or too short for your draw length.

  • Shayna King

    Congrats on your new toy/assassin tool! The VERY first thing I thought of when I saw you holding the bow was “Wow. So that’s what happened to Zelda.” Good luck, and don’t shoot at me!

  • I would say I’m an Amazon Princess… « kalypsoinconsequential

    […] archery for a few minutes.  Basically, I just want to brag about what an awesome life I have.  As you may remember, my wonderful husband bought me a 62″, 30# PSE Razorback recurve bow for my  birthday. I am […]

Leave a Reply

