Quarter Life Crisis

So have you heard of this thing called a Quarter Life Crisis?  From the Wikipedia site: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quarter-life_crisis

The quarter-life crisis is a period of life following the major changes of adolescence, usually ranging from the late teens to the early thirties, in which a person begins to feel doubtful about their own lives, brought on by the stress of becoming an adult. The term was coined by analogy with mid-life crisis.

I think I’m having the opposite of a quarter life crisis.  I’m having a quarter life affirmation.  Allow me to explain:

It started about 6 weeks ago when I was in Phoenix visiting my sister.  She’s about to turn 30 and I’m 28.  We were talking about having those “Holy Shit, I’m an ADULT” moments.  In a lot of ways, it’s hard for me to think of myself as an adult.  I usually dress like a teenage boy, I play a shitload of video games and I still feel like the antisocial 16 year old I was.  My first one was when I got hired for the GS position I had in Germany.  I was 25 and they hired me to create and stand up a vision therapy program for long term rehabilitation with TBI patients.  Yeah, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.  I was able to handle the job and actually truly excelled at it.  I loved that job.  My second was right after we moved back to the states and Husband and I bought a washer and a dryer.  For the first time in our lives, we own major appliances.  We own appliances that don’t sit on the counter in the kitchen.  HOLY SHIT, WE OWN MAJOR APPLIANCES.  Then, I realized that I don’t get carded to buy alcohol anymore.  WTF?  I think that I still look like I’m 16 but I guess I don’t.  My final moment was when I received my first Jury Summons.  At the tender age of 27.  Perhaps I should elaborate on why it took so long:  I lived in Germany from the age of 19 to the age of 27.  I received the Jury Summons within 90 days of being back on US soil.  Sister mentioned that 28 was the age that everything kind of came together for her.  She stopped being as crazy and irresponsible as she had been previously.  She said something along the lines of “That’s what 28 is all about, it’s about truly becoming an adult.”

And I think she’s right, overall.  28 is about realizing that you’re not a teenager anymore.  You haven’t been a teenager for 10 years, so it’s time to stop acting like one.

I’ve been mulling this over in my head for about 6 weeks now and it’s caused a huge difference in my life.  It’s finally sinking in that it’s easier to just do it right the first time.  It’s so much easier to spend X amount of time organizing your life and KEEPING IT ORGANIZED than to try to sift through the chaos every day.  I’ve also cut caffeine and soda out of my diet.  And I feel like a completely different person.  I don’t feel like the defensive, reactive mess anymore.  I’m proactive.  I’m more centered and much more calm.  And I really like that.

About Kalypso

I'm a mess. My brain is a dirty and dangerous place. I'm a punk. I'm a capitalist. I'm a snarky, sarcastic, antisocial nerd. View all posts by Kalypso

Leave a Reply

